Leonardtown is in the Third Election District of St. Mary's County. The town is centrally located in the county and lies at the head of Breton Bay. MD Rt. 5 is the major highway, running east to west, and MD Rt. 245 runs north to intersect with MD Rt. 235.

The population of Leonardtown is 2,930 according to the 2010 census. Housing is generally single family in small scattered developments with a few townhouses and apartments. Leonardtown's central location in St. Mary's County, distinction as county seat, central utilities, and offer of future job opportunities, is insuring better than average development.

A Mayor and a five member Town Council, all of whom serve for four-year terms, govern Leonardtown. Town Council meetings are held on the second Monday of each month a 4:00 p.m. in the Town Office and the public is invited.

The Honorable Dan Burris
Tyler Alt
Hayden Hammett
Christy Hollander
J. "Jay" Maguire Mattingly, IV
Mary Maday Slade

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

Town Office Hours

Monday Friday 8:30 a.m. 4:30 p.m.
E-mail: Click to Email Us
Town Web Page: leonardtown.somd.com
Town Administrator: Laschelle McKay

Leonardtown operates its own wastewater treatment plant and its own water system.
Wastewater Treatment Plant, P.O. Box 1, Leonardtown, MD 20650
Physical Address: 22620 Van Wert Lane, Leonardtown, MD 20650
Phone: (301) 475-5445 (emergency after hrs: (301) 475-8016)
Jay Johnson, Utilities Superintendent