Posted on March 30, 2009:
St. Mary’s County Government’s Division of Tourism, in conjunction with St. Mary’s County businesses,will be holding three seasonal “Trunk of Treasures” Giveaways during 2009 as part of the Celebration of Maryland’s 375th birthday. Each giveaway will have a unique theme and will include a hand-crafted 17th-century –style trunk fashioned by Loveville Leather, a locally-owned Mennonite equine and leather goods shop.
Giveaway entries are accepted at the Charlotte Hall Welcome Center in Charlotte Hall and on the Celebrate 375website, www.Maryland375.com. The winner’s name for the Spring Trunk of Treasures Giveaway will be drawn on April 30, 2009 at noon at the Charlotte Hall Welcome Center.
The Spring Trunk of Treasures has a Leonardtown theme. Included in this Trunk are gift certificates to dine at Corbels Fine Dining & Spirits, Café Des Artistes, Do Dah Deli and Brewing Grounds as well as a bottle of Pinot Gris from Tea N Scones Café & Wine Bar. The giveaway also includes an overnight stay at the Executive Inn & Suites Park Avenue Hotel, a cooking class from Quality Street Kitchen & Catering, a tote, organic coffee, organic champagne and a gift certificate from The Good Earth Natural
Foods Company, and a guided kayak tour for up to four people from McIntosh Run Outfitters. A variety of pieces of original artwork created by local artists are also included in the giveaway such as a hand-crafted walking stick from Whiskey Creek Wood Works and a framed tobacco barn print by Sue Stevenson of Creek Side Gallery, a framed “Maryland, My Maryland” poster by Tom Ball, a beach glass jewelry ensemble by Liz Printz Jewelry, a digital serigraph Amish scene by Carol Davis of Hilltop Graphics, a hand-dyed silk scarf by Karen Russell Quam, and a crocheted woolen scarf by Christina Allen of Allen’s Articles.
A full description of items and more information on the Trunk of Treasures giveaways may be found at www.Maryland.375.com. The website also includes a list of county business offering incentives with the use of a Discover St. Mary’s County Value Card. Cards are available inside the Special Celebrate 375 Discover St. Mary’s County Guides The guide is free and is available at the St. Mary’s County Welcome Center in Charlotte Hall, at participating businesses throughout the county, at the county libraries, and at state and regional visitor information centers. The guide will be mailed to those requesting visitor or
relocation information and will be distributed at venues throughout the mid-Atlantic region.
Maryland was founded in 1634 when 140 adventurers landed on St. Clement’s Island and then established Maryland’s first capital at St. Mary’s City. In 2009, St. Mary’s County celebrates 375 years of history and significant contributions to the state and nation with a year of events and activities. (Photos of the Trunk of Treasures are available upon request).
For more information contact:
301-475-4200 ext. 1342