

Certificate of Achievement

FOR EARNING EAGLE SCOUT AWARD



WHEREAS, the conferring of an Eagle Scout is one of the highest awards that can be bestowed upon a Boy Scout;

WHEREAS, such award is an earned award in that the recipient must perform and successfully complete and pass the rigid requirements exacted to achieve an Eagle Scout Award which, is presented to about 6% of the Boy Scout members who demonstrate skills in leadership, citizenship, and self-confidence; and

WHEREAS, Alexander Rooney is a Boy Scout with Troop 420 of Leonardtown, Maryland, and at the age of eleven, established a goal to earn the prestigious Eagle Scout Award; and

WHEREAS, Xander achieved his goal of obtaining the required 21 merit badges and to demonstrate his leadership capabilities, he has worked hard, shouldered leadership positions and has been a steady resource for younger Scouts who have appreciated his guidance, leadership and friendship; and

WHEREAS, Alexander (Xander) Rooney demonstrated his leadership capabilities by leading a group of scouts and volunteers, at Greenwell State Park, to build and install 8 life ring boxes along the waterfront for emergency water rescues. He also had the group build three new trail head bulletin boards for park services to display information; and

WHEREAS, Xander's achievement sets a high standard of commitment and dedication, which the youth of our great Town of Leonardtown and St. Mary's County may follow and serves as an inspiration to this Council and the citizens of Leonardtown; and

WHEREAS, at a Court of Honor held by the Boy Scouts of America on May 27, 2023 an Eagle Award will be conferred upon Xander; and

Now Therefore, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor and Council of the Town of Leonardtown hereby extend their congratulations to Eagle Scout Alexander Rooney for his noteworthy achievements and having an Eagle Scout Award conferred upon him by the Boy Scouts of America.

THIS DATE: March 16, 2023	
Daniel W. Burris, Mayor	J. Maguire Mattingly IV, Vice President
Nick Colvin, Council Member	Heather M. Earhart, Council Member
Christy Hollander, Council Member	Mary Maday Slade, Council Member

THIC DATE.